home checklist checklist checklist checklist checklist checklist
The symbols K.A.C.F.M.An. are used to indicate the geographical range of the species. They have been adopted to give an approxomation of the range of each species within New Zealand.

K= Kermadec Islands
A= Aupourian - Kaipara Harbour, north around North Cape, encompassing the Three Kings Islands and south to East Cape
C= Cookian - Lower North Island and the northern part of the South Island
F= Forsterian - Otago, Fiordland and Stewart Island
M= Moriorian - Chatham Islands, Pitt Island
An= Antipodean - Subantarctic Islands of New Zealand
FW =  Freshwater
L =  Land
E =  Endemic
I =  Introduced
Basic Search   
Taxonomic Class: Select from the list of Taxonomic Classes/SubClasses
Scientific Name: e.g. "Muricidae", "Poirieria", "zelandica"
Distribution: e.g. "Chatham", "Three Kings"
Notes: e.g. "Pipi" (Common Names), "Subfossil", "Introduced" etc.
Geographical Range:

Use the form above to search for Families, Species, Localities etc.

Tip: If you are unsure of the spelling, type part of the name. eg. If you are not sure if a name is 'convexum' or 'convexus', type in 'convex'

This will then return all matching species for 'convexum', 'convexus' and 'convexa'.

www.mollusca.co.nz   © all images copyright Andrew Spurgeon 2007   email: andrew@mollusca.co.nz