Quick Search
Taxonomic Checklist
Other non-Molluscan Phyla (Echinodermata, Brachiopoda etc) are being added to the checklist and photo sections of the website. This is to help identify species that may be mistaken for Mollusca, but actually are not.
Class Hexanauplia
Sub Class Thecostraca
Order Lepadiformes
Dosima Gray, 1825
fascicularis (Ellis & Solander, 1786) K.A.C.F.
Lepas (Anatifa) Bruguière, 1789
anatifera Linnaeus, 1758 K.A.C.M. photo
anserifera Linnaeus, 1767 K.A.C.
australis Darwin, 1851 C.F.M.An.
pectinata Spengler, 1793 K.A.C.M.
testudinata Aurivillius, 1892 K.A.C.M.
Lepas (Nonfurcata) Memmi, 1980
nonfurcata Nilsson-Cantell, 1927 A.C.
Order Scalpelliformes
Calantica Gray, 1825
spinilatera Foster, 1978 A.C.F.M.E.
villosa (Leach, 1824) A.C.F.E.
Smilium Leach, 1825
acutum (Hoek, 1883) K.A.C.F.M.An.
spinosa (Quoy & Gaimard, 1834) A.C.F.E. photo
Amigdoscalpellum Zevina, 1978
costellatum (Withers, 1935) (=buccinum Newman & Ross, =elongatum Hoek) A.C.F.M.An.
pedunculatum (Hoek, 1883) A.C.F.M.E. photo
Order Sessilia
Notobalanus Newman & Ross, 1976
vestitus (Darwin, 1854) A.C.F.M.An.E.
Austrominius Buckeridge, 1983
modestus (Darwin, 1854) A.C.F.E.
Epopella Ross, 1970
kermadeca Foster, 1978 K.E.
plicata (Gray, 1843) A.C.F.M.An.E. photo
Amphibalanus Pitombo, 2004
amphitrite (Darwin, 1854) A.
variegatus (Darwin, 1854)
Austromegabalanus Newman, 1979
nigrescens (Lamarck, 1818) A. photo
Balanus da Costa, 1778
trigonus Darwin, 1854 A. photo
Notomegabalanus Newman, 1979
decorus (Darwin, 1854) K.A.C.F.M.An.E. photo
Chamaesipho Darwin, 1854
brunnea Moore, 1944 A.C.M.E. photo
columna (Spengler, 1790) K.A.C.F. photo
Coronula Lamarck, 1802
diadema (Linnaeus, 1767)
Tetraclitella Hiro 1939
depressa Foster & Anderson, 1986 K.A.C.F.M.An.E.
Key to Geographical Ranges
NZ Map showing Geographical Ranges
The symbols K.A.C.F.M.An. are used to indicate the geographical range of the species. They have been adopted to give an approxomation of the range of each species within New Zealand.
Kermadec Islands
Aupourian - Kaipara Harbour, north around North Cape, encompassing the Three Kings Islands and south to East Cape
Cookian - Lower North Island and the northern part of the South Island
Forsterian - Otago, Fiordland and Stewart Island
Moriorian - Chatham Islands, Pitt Island
Antipodean - Subantarctic Islands of New Zealand
Fw =
L =
N =
North Island
S =
South Island
E =
I =
R =
Sf =
Fo =